My Story – A Trip to Scotland

By Eric Hickman

I chose to create a narrative story on my weekend trip to Scotland because it was a short and slightly unplanned trip, yet turned out to be thrilling and unimaginable, including some winter storms. My father visited me while I was abroad in England for about four days and we made the most of it. We woke up early one morning and drove a rented car all throughout Scotland to visit historic cities and to golf. Since I was little I’ve been a member at a golf course where my father taught me the fundamentals. I’ve now grown up to be a pretty good player and enjoy every aspect of the game of golf. Scotland is the home of golf and embodies the rich heritage the game has to offer. My dad and I are also huge fans of the movie Braveheart and idolize everything William Wallace stands for. It was a pleasure visiting the Wallace Monument dedicated to him. Ultimately, it was great to enjoy ourselves together in a place so far away from home.

I conveyed my story as a travel experience and narrated it in the order the events took place. I had a somewhat difficult time at first learning how to create this video because I am unfamiliar with iMovie and other software lending itself to video making. The hardest parts were learning how to create a video that flows. There were many abrupt beginnings and endings to my clips and I had to learn how to adjust volume and length to be visually and audio pleasing to a viewer. In my video I shot everything myself, except three images of Edinburgh, because I did not take any while there.

Leave a comment